Jeff Gordon Online


Jeff's IROC Statistics

-Jeff received an invitation to participate in 2002 but declined citing time constraints.
-Jeff received an invitation to participate in the IROC series for six consecutive years from 1995-2000.
-His only IROC victory came at Daytona in 1998.

2000 IROC Schedule
DateTrackFinishPts Position
February 18Daytona1010
April 15Talladega57
June 10Michigan77
August 5Indianapolis46

Dan Rather
Jeff's 2000 IROC picture

The International Race of Champions is a four race series conceived almost 25 years ago. The premise is amazingly simple yet effective: Take 12 of the North America's top drivers, from different types of racing, put them in identically prepared "stock cars," give them a set of rules which virtually eliminates the variables usually associated with racing (no pit stops, no qualifying, no driver set-up of the cars, etc.) and wave a green flag at them.

While no two cars will race identically under race conditions, IROC test drivers Dave Marcis, Jim Sauter and Dick Trickle run the cars before each series event to ensure that chassis suspension settings are the same. Drivers are not allowed to make changes or adjustments to the suspension, handling or any other parts of the IROC car, except for pedal and steering wheel adjustments, seat position and safety belts.

Drivers are selected to participate in the series based on merit and availability. Since the races are held in conjunction with Winston Cup events, the majority of the field is comprised of drivers from that series. The Busch Grand National champion from the previous season is also invited to compete, as well as several drivers from the Indy Racing League, CART, and other series based on availability.

Cars are assigned to the drivers through a blind drawing before each of the four races. At the first race, drivers draw for their starting positions. At Race 2, the starting lineup is determined by the reverse of the finishing positions on the opening event. That is, the winner of Race 1 starts last, and the driver who finished last in Race 1 starts on the pole in Race 2. Point standings following the first two events determine the starting order for Race 3, with the driver having the most points beginning last and the driver having the least amount of points on the pole. Point standings also determine the lineup for Race 4. The drivers start in reverse order of their point totals through the first three events.

In Race l, the cars are numbered according to starting position. In Races 2, 3 and 4, the cars are numbered according to the driverís position in the point standings.

IROC Points System
Points are accumulated through the four race season and the champion is crowned following the fourth race (Indianapolis).
Win- 21 points
2nd- 17 points
3rd- 14 points
4th- 12 points
5th- 10 points
6th- 9 points
7th- 8 points
8th- 7 points
9th- 6 points
10th- 5 points
11th- 4 points
12th- 3 points
In addition, 5 bonus points are awarded to the driver who leads the most laps in each race, 3 bonus points are awarded to the driver who leads the second greatest number of laps, and 2 bonus points are awarded to the driver who leads the third greatest number of laps. In case of a tie, the driver with the highest finishing position in that race receives the bonus.

After the fourth event, drivers are paid based on the final series standings.
Champion- $225,000
2nd- $100,000
3rd- $60,000
4th- $50,000
5th- $45,000
6th- $40,000
7th- $40,000
8th- $40,000
9th- $40,000
10th- $40,000
11th- $40,000
12th- $40,000

Dan Rather
The 1997 IROC Drivers
Dale Jarrett, Mark Martin, Jeff Gordon, Tommy Kendall, Randy LaJoie, Darrell Waltrip, Robby Gordon, Dale Earnhardt, Jimmy Vasser, Terry Labonte, Al Unser Jr, Alex Zanardi

Dan Rather
The 1996 IROC Drivers
(Top) Scott Pruett, Sterling Marlin, Johnny Benson, Rusty Wallace, Terry Labonte, Jeff Gordon
(Bottom) Robby Gordon, Dale Earnhardt, Tommy Kendall, Al Unser Jr, Steve Kinser
(Not pictured) Mark Martin

Jeff Gordon Online

Copyright ©2012 Jeff Gordon Online
All rights reserved.