Jeff Gordon Online

DuPont Team

Teamwork is the fuel that allows common people to achieve uncommon results

Jeff Gordon usually gets all of the accolades for the success of the Drive To End Hunger/DuPont Chevrolet. After all, he's the driver of the car. He's the one that race fans see on TV every week. However, he wouldn't come close to victory lane without a hard working team behind him. Led by crew chief Alan Gustafson and team manager Brian Whitesell, the Drive To End Hunger/DuPont team has a legendary history in NASCAR with four Cup series championships.

The team isn't just made up of the pit crew that performs the lightning quick pit stops. It includes "the guys back at the shop" such as fabricators, engine specialists, chassis specialists, aerodynamicists, all the way down to the people that answer the phones.

Alan Gustafson
Crew Chief

Alan Gustafson stepped into the crew chief position in November 2010 following a series of restructuring manuevers at Hendrick Motorsports. Gustafson has served as crew chief for Kyle Busch, Mark Martin, and Casey Mears, among others. He has worked at Hendrick Motorsports since 1999 and recently signed a contract extension to keep him at HMS thru the 2014 season.

The Pit Crew

Jeff Gordon's pit crew has upped the ante on pit road since the inception of the "Rainbow Warriors" in 1993. The crew spends a few hours each week practicing pit stops. Thirteen second four tire changes are the norm with this group.

Michael Oxendine Front tire carrier
Josh Kirk Rear tire changer
Brad Pickens Gasman
Kelly Kellis Front tire changer
Bailey Walker Jackman
Gene Cornwell Rear tire carrier

Pit crew

At The Racetrack

In addition to the pit crew, other members of the team play invaluable roles during race weekend. From setting up the pit stall to calculating fuel mileage, these members play vital roles during the course of the weekend.

Mike Bumgarner Car chief
Jordan Allen Tire specialist
Lee Deese Race engineer
Eddie D'Hondt Spotter
Tom Gray Race engineer
Dan Hobbs Shock specialist
Jason Ingle Engine tuner
Josh Kirk Interior mechanic
Mark Mauldin Pit crew coach
Dean Mozingo Hauler driver
Jim Parrott Hauler driver
Mike Senyitko Mechanic
Tom Stewart Engineer
Kip Wolfmeier Mechanic

Hourly Commitment

"Early Crew"
(includes Alan Gustafson, Brian Whitesell)

Total 50-70 hours a week.

"Pit Crew"
(includes Bailey, Brad, Michael, Josh, Kelly, Gene)

12-14 hours on raceday plus 4 hrs/week for practice in addition to their regular "shop" hours.

"Shop Crew"
(everyone back at the shop)

50-60 hours per week.

Where Are They Now?

Racing is a fraternity. It has become a common sight for members of a race team to work for several different teams over a short period of time. Jeff Gordon's team has historically been a tight group. There has been little turnover compared to the competition. Here's what a few former "Rainbow Warriors" have been up to since departing the organization in recent years.

Previous Job With #24 TeamCurrent Job
Steve LetarteCrew chief Crew chief for Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Ray EvernhamCrew chief Track owner.
Robbie LoomisCrew chiefExecutive Vice President, Petty Enterprises
Ed GuzzoChief mechanicOperational director for Robert Yates Racing
Charlie SiegarsEngine builderEngine advisor to Dodge
Ron ThielSpotter/Shop ForemanFabr./Chassis Director for Evernham Motorsports
Craig CurioneTire carrierTire carrier for Gillete Motorsports
David SmithTire changerCar chief for Robert Yates Racing
Robert "Bootie" BarkerShock specialistCrew chief for #55 team
Tony GibsonCar chiefCrew chief for DEI
Rich HubbsMechanicCar chief for #21 Wood Brothers team
Andy PapathanasiouPit crew coachEx. Dir., North Carolina Motorsports Assoc.
Patrick DonahueMechanicEvernham Motorsports Truck team director
Ashton LewisEngineerFinance manager
Eddie NawrockiMechanicShop foreman for DEI
Matt ClarkPit crew coachPit crew coach for RCR
Jeff MeenderingCar chiefCrew chief for Bobby Labonte
Chad KnausTire changerCrew chief for Jimmie Johnson
Darrin MariskaCatch canEngine tuner at Petty Enterprises
Shawn ParkerMechanicBrewco Motorspots competition director
Barry MuseJackman--
Mike TrowerFront tire changerFront tire changer for Jimmie Johnson
Darren JollyFront tire carrierFront tire carrier for Robby Gordon

Jeff Gordon Online

Copyright 2012 Jeff Gordon Online
All rights reserved.